SOI awarded Hydrographic Excellence Award for 2021
November 10, 2022

Congratulations to the Schmidt Ocean Institute for being awarded the SSSI Hydrography Commission’s 2021 Hydrographic Excellence Team Award, in recognition for the 2020-21 RV Falkor Australia campaign.

The Hydrographic Excellence award recognises those individuals or teams working across the various hydrographic disciplines who have made an outstanding contribution to the science of hydrography and industry best practice.

The RV Falkor expeditions were a testament to the endurance in overcoming challenges brought on by the pandemic, allowing sustained mapping in remote Australian waters using advanced technologies, innovative crewing practices, data sharing, and excellent outreach communications.

Dr Robin Beaman from James Cook University received the award at the 2022 NSW & ACT Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards dinner, on behalf of all the SOI team, RV Falkor crew, and science teams.

Dr Beaman receiving award on behalf of SOI team


You may also like…